The Fifty-First Section of Whitman’s Song of Myself, Slightly Amended to Include Jumbo Diaz of the Cincinnati Reds

Jumbo Whitman

The past and present wilt—I have fill’d them, emptied them.
And proceed to fill my next fold of the future.
Listener up there! what have you to confide to me?
Look in my face while I snuff the sidle of evening,
(Talk honestly, no one else hears you, and I stay only a minute longer.)
Do I contradict myself?
Very well then I contradict myself,
(I am Jumbo, I contain multitudes.)
I concentrate toward them that are nigh, I wait on the door-slab.
Who has done his day’s work? who will soonest be through with his supper? 
Who wishes to walk with me?
Will you speak before I am gone? will you prove already too late?

Multitudes are what Jumbo Diaz contains. About this I am certain.

Now, what is it which lives within said multitudes? This is a more questionable topic.

About Joshua Allen-Worrell

Joshua Allen-Worrell is a very part-time writer. He did not graduate from the University of Virginia with a degree in economics in 1989. He did, however, poop in a diaper that year. Josh is a fan of the Atlanta Braves and the name Zoilo Almonte. He often makes tweets as @oldseacaptain.
This entry was posted in Jumbo Contains Multitudes and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

