Pitchers and Pessimists

May 28, 2014; New York, NY, USA; Credit: Noah K. Murray-USA TODAY Sports

May 28, 2014; New York, NY, USA; Credit: Noah K. Murray-USA TODAY Sports

Included for your viewing pleasure is an image of antisvelte pitcher Bartolo Colon combined with the written words of the joyously deceased pessimist, E.M. Cioran. By posting the Cioran quote over the image of Colon flailing (and failing) at a pitch offered up by an unknown Pirates hurler, I am trying to draw a cheap connection between Colon’s increasing vitality over the last few years with his declining physical refinement.

Cioran remains justified and indifferent.


As the newest staff writer to Most Valuable Zobrist, I feel obliged to give fair warning to you, fair reader, regarding my production rate. My output to this site will unfortunately be infrequent (for the near future). So much so, that I might even go as far as suggesting it might border on Malickian levels (Did I just compare myself to Terrence Malick? I’m afraid I did. That’s the kind of highfalutin writing you can expect from this low-output blogger). My goal will be to contribute something silly and random to MVZ at least once a month. Of course, my fingers will be crossed that I am eventually able to post a higher rate of production. But also, my fingers will remain crossed that your own fingers won’t be crossed in hopes that my actual production will be less.

–NCL

This entry was posted in Pitchers and Pessimists and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

